My amazing brother

I guess I’ve known Wesley Shen for about… 22 years now! We’ve had our ups and downs, as siblings do, but I am who I am today in huge part because of him. He’s one of my best friends, and I can’t imagine my life without him.

He also happens to be ridiculously smart and insanely talented. He started playing the piano when he was about 7 years old, because our older brother and I were taking piano lessons at the time. We were both trying our best to avoid practicing, but Wesley begged my mom to let him learn. It’s a good thing she encouraged him to play and play and play, through all the years, because he is out of this world. Seriously.

The most amazing thing about Wesley is that he doesn’t just play the piano. He has a vision about what music can be used for, and what he wants to do with his music. He is passionate about the power of music, and recognizes it as a responsibility. He concerns himself with what he is doing with the music he plays. He is interested in making art. He is interested in inspiring feeling in others. And you will be kicking yourself if you miss out on seeing what he’s made of!

I can’t believe today’s the day! Wesley’s profile is the perfect one to end on, because I get to add that he’s been an amazing emotional support through this whole endeavor. Sometimes he just sees the stress written on my face and knows all I need is a good long hug. I can’t wait for you all to meet him and witness the magic that happen when he plays!

Maddy

Leave a Reply

